Information on carrying a concealed handgun in Maine.

Starting October 15, 2015, legal gun owners won't need a permit to carry a concealed handgun. The law will end the mandatory permit system that legislators say has been in effect for more than 90 years.

The new law only applies to people who are legally allowed to own a gun. People must be 21 or older, except for people age 18 to 21 that are active duty or honorably discharged from the military. According to a law summary prepared by the Maine State Police for the Legislature, the current prohibitions on where firearms can be carried will remain.

Those include:
•Federal buildings
•State Parks
•State Capitol area
•Acadia National Park
•Private property when prohibited by the property owner.
•Establishments serving liquor, if posted.

The permit system will remain in place, for those Mainers who want to be able to carry their guns in other permit states that have reciprocity with Maine. For more information about the Maine laws and States which have reciprocity, please visit the following link:


People WITHOUT a permit who are carrying concealed handguns, and come in contact with a law enforcement officer during a routine stop, detention or arrest, MUST notify the officer immediately that they are carrying a concealed handgun.

This law pertains to only hand guns, not all weapons.

It is important to remember that this law does NOT authorize persons who are prohibited from owning or possessing firearms to carry them. Prohibitions under state law, federal law include but are not limited to: convictions (felony and qualifying misdemeanor crimes of domestic violence); some juvenile adjudications; many protection from abuse orders, dishonorable discharge from the military; immigration status, deferred disposition status; certain mental health adjudications (civil involuntary commitment; finding of not guilty by reason of insanity; finding of not competent to stand trail) and certain probate adjudications. Prohibition may also be included in conditions of release, and probation agreements

  **  NEW LAW UPDATE  **

 ( Effective 10/15/2015 )


Concealed Firearm Permits FAQ's

Q: -How do I apply for a permit?
A: -If you are a permanent resident of Kittery or Kittery Pt. Maine, you can pick up an application from the Police Department's Secretary or download the application from the link provided above. ​                                                                                                        

Q: -Is there a fee?

A: Yes, payable by check only.  Please make checks payable to the Kittery Police Department
$35 for original resident permit
$20 for renewal
Q: -How long are the permits good for?
A: - They are valid for 4 years, unless revoked or you change address.

Q: - Is the permit just for Kittery Maine?
A: - No, it is issued by Kittery Police Department but is valid anywhere in the state of Maine.  Please be aware that your concealed weapons permit may not be reciprocal with other states.  
Q: -Is the permit good to carry any concealed weapon?
A: - NO, It only allows the carrying of a concealed firearm.

Q: -How long does it take to process an application?
A: -It should take less than 30 days. 

Places off-limits when carrying:

1. On the premises of a licensed establishment for on-premises consumption of liquor and is posted to prohibit or restrict the possession of firearms in a manner reasonably likely to come to the attention of patrons.

2. On public school property including property of a community college that adopts a policy imposing such a prohibition.

3. It is a Class D crime for any person, including, but not limited to, security guards and persons involved in a labor dispute or strike, to be armed with a dangerous weapon, as defined in Title 17-A, section 2, subsection 9, at the site of a labor dispute or strike. A person holding a valid permit to carry a concealed firearm is not exempt from this subsection. A security guard is exempt from this subsection to the extent that federal laws, rules or regulations require the security guard to be armed with a dangerous weapon at the site of a labor dispute or strike.

4.All persons are prohibited from entering any court facility, including any courtroom, or any other area or building within the control or supervision of the Maine Judicial Branch, if armed with a firearm, other dangerous weapon or while in possession of a disabling chemical.

5. Any place where federal law prohibits the carrying of firearms.